Dollar Tree Exclusive??? Fast & Furious Camo Series

Alright ghouls and boils, this is one of the weirdest things I’ve come across in a while. To be fair I think I found these back around July 4th, it’s just taken me this long to get around to them. Anyway, I think my son, my mom, and myself were all setting off to see some fireworks and for some reason she wanted to drop by the local Dollar Tree. I really didn’t think to check out the toys but my kid made a bee-line for the aisle…most of it was the usual: fake poop, army men, bizarre no-name knock-offs of something between a Power Ranger and Transformer.

But at about the same time we spotted something unfamiliar. It had the recognizable “Fast & Furious” branding but underneath was “Camo Series,” something neither of us have ever seen before. We don’t have every single F&F vehicle ever released, but we do have a reasonable collection of ones we thought were cool at the time, so if anywhere that I frequent ever had this Camo Series, it came and went between any visits of mine! And like all the F&F stuff that’s been on the shelves since Fate of the Furious curiously they are not “Hot Wheels” proper and instead simply maintain the “Mattel” label.

Fast and Furious Camo Series

This is actually a pretty cool little set of cars and some of them are tough to get in this size outside of high-priced multi-packs. They’re bigger than 1:64…I don’t see anything official anywhere but I’m guessing they’re probably 1:55. Since it is the Camo Series the vehicles do not retain their original colors, but they’re easy to recognize.

  • 1 / 6 – Local Motors Rally Fighter (FF8)
  • 2 / 6 – International MXT (FF6)
  • 3 / 6 – Ripsaw (FF8)
  • 4 / 6 – 1970 Dodge Charger Off-Road (FF7)
  • 5 / 6 – Custom Downhill Buggy (FF7)
  • 6 / 6 – 2011 Dodge Challenger SRT8 (FF7)
Rally Fighter

Local Motors Rally Fighter

International MXT

International MXT

Just in case you forgot – and I had to look up a couple of these myself – here’s where they come from. The Rally Fighter was driven by Letty when they attempted to capture Cipher in Fate of the Furious. The International MXT (also known as the Navistar MXT) was driven by Hobbs throughout Fast & Furious 6. The Ripsaw was Tej’s vehicle of choice during the big ice battle scene in Fate. The Off-Road ’70 Dodge Charger is driven by Dom in Furious 7 during the crazy parachute scene and ensuing chase on the mountain. The Custom Downhill Buggy, sometimes credited as the Fast Attack Vehicle, was driven by Deckard in the aforementioned scene where he acted as one of the antagonists. And finally the 2011 Dodge Challenger SRT8 was also featured in the plane drop / mountain chase scene where it was driven by Letty; 2 of the most memorable scenes include her and Dom ripping off the back of the large van thing (I don’t know what to call that giant mobile command center thing driven by the bad dudes) and when Brian grabs onto the back as he escapes the giant van thing as it slides off the cliff.

Ripsaw

Ripsaw

1970 Dodge Charger Off-Road

1970 Dodge Charger Off-Road

I was worried that the quality would take a hit being in a dollar store but no, these things are as solid as you’d expect. I’m pretty sure this is the only way to get the Rally Car and the MXT singly, and I’m almost 100% sure this is the only way to get Deckard’s Buggy outside of the largish 1:43 version.

Custom Downhill Buggy

Custom Downhill Buggy

2011 Dodge Challenger SRT

2011 Dodge Challenger SRT8

I don’t have a whole lot more to say about this series, other than that I’m impressed at how non-redundant something exclusive to the Dollar Tree could be. I still think that’s a dubious as hell claim, so if you’ve seen these somewhere else, please let me know – I’m really curious about these things, and I know they’re not just some fossil that surfaced at the Dollar Tree because 2 of ’em are from FF 8.

Leave a comment