Hello Kitty (Sanrio) Adds 2 Character Cars to Its Ranks

Alright this is debatably old news but I just got them and they aren’t terribly widespread as far as I can tell at the moment, so we’re runnin’ with it as per the title.

Originally I had been holding out on getting the additional 2 cars whenever I ran across them in a store, but the other day I noticed Amazon selling a boxset of all 5 Hello Kitty Character Cars for just over $20. That’s about $12 more than I’d need to spend in a store, but if I ordered them on the internet, I’d be lucky to get both for under about $15 or so considering shipping, plus I could probably sell the others for at least $5 a pop even though they’re loose. Basically it seemed like a good idea to scoop up this boxset if I didn’t want to keep waiting on ’em to show up at Walmart or Target. If you’re someone in need of all 5 of them, I’d strongly recommend getting the set for yourself. The only draw back – like all of the recent boxsets – is that the cars aren’t individually packaged so you don’t get any individual cards or blisters. Once the box is opened, all 5 are “opened.”

Hello Kitty (Sanrio) Boxset

Um kay that was a tiny bit more rambly than I intended but it’s cool. Allow me to introduce the 2 “new” members of the Helly Kitty / Sanrio clan, My Melody & Cinnamoroll! Let me once again remind you that I know next to nothing about Hello Kitty so please take all of my commentary with a grain of salt and feel free to clue me into any cool tidbits that I wouldn’t notice.

My Melody Character Car

Is My Melody a cat, like Hello Kitty? I am confused, but the car design is fairly clever. It features bucket seats where the ears are except one ear i flopped down so there’s only one seat…? At first I though it strange that the steering wheel was on the right but then I realized they were actively keeping the connection with Japan alive so that’s cool. The “face” as it exists in the grille area walks a line between creepy and cute but I will say that My Melody does a good job of looking like she(?) belongs with the rest of the pack.

Cinnamoroll Character Car

Then there’s Cinnamoroll who’s either a bunny or some kind of puppy dog thing. I just can’t decide based on those ears. The vehicle itself is quite small, like a miniature pickup truck with the ears acting as extended sides on the left and right of the flatbed. There is what appears to be a cottonball-esque tail on the rear, so I’ma go with bunny until I’m told or deduce otherwise. Anyway, the tiny truck is cute but there’s not much else going on aside from the matching tiny tires. I guess what I’m kinda sweatin’ here is finding any kind of connection with “cinnamon,” a “roll,” or an actual “cinnamon roll.” I mean the icing is white but….is that it….?

These Hello Kitty Character Cars may not necessarily tickle my pickle, but I do appreciate the effort made to reach across the gender gap and into something that’s a tad more culturally diverse to boot. There is definitely a place for “cute” cars – just look at those Cutie Cars from Shopkins a few years ago (I almost broke down and started collecting them) and you can see a lot of similarities with these Hello Kitty cars. Let me know what you think and I’ll see you soon!

Leave a comment