New and Upcoming Character Cars – MARVEL & DC

With a swath of new Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 cars coming out in various forms and availability, it may be a little shocking to know that Hot Wheels is already getting its feet wet with Marvel’s next film, Spider-man: Homecoming. We’ve got a brand new Spider-man Character Car currently available, as well as a slightly recolored version of Iron Man, in the newer Mark XLVI shape. Both of these come in their own “Spider-man: Homecoming” packaging, though neither of the backs offer any further insight. (Collectively, I think the backs include Punisher, Iron Fist, Daredevil, and maybe Green Goblin – regardless, no further “Homecoming” editions.)

Spidey: Homecoming
Iron Man: Homecoming

I screen-capped these from a guy on eBay, burningrubbertoycompany, the first vendor to show up with them. I’d highly recommend him/her for those of you on a quest for new character cars. The cars are almost always very fairly priced, and while the shipping may be a little high, he/she ships Priority 2-day so it gets to you quick.

Spidey: Homecoming
Iron Man: Homecoming

Doctor Octopus and Rhino have been re-released in new unnumbered “Character Car” packaging as well, a welcome development for those who missed out on Doc Ock’s oddly narrow window of availability a few months ago.

This is all we know so far – I think we all pretty much expected a new Spidey, but the inclusion of yet another Iron Man is underwhelming. Cross your damn fingers that Hot Wheels graces us with a Vulture and Shocker car in due time!

Ares - Single

On the DC front, Ares is now available singly. Judging from the picture, it’s the same as the car from the Wonder Woman vs. Ares 2-pack; plus, the Wonder Woman car was touted as the exclusive. I haven’t caught sight of the back of the Ares card yet, so no word on if anyone else new is on the horizon. I’m hoping for another car or two under the Wonder Woman banner, maybe Hippolyta and Steve Trevor cars, though I could also see how Hot Wheels may not deem them all that marketable. However, I think it’s important to note that they really branched out with Ares, because he’s the first and so far only non-Batman-centric villain in the DCU line!

And finally, we’ve got some very cool news courtesy of a reader and fellow character car aficionado. It looks like at some point this year DC has a few new characters slated for release: “Movie Version” Flash, Doomsday, and one I’m really excited about…SWAMP THING! Also, the cryptic “Justice League 2” is These might be a bit further out (July and August), but there is the possibility of a new Batman as early as June. The case is set to include a “Batman” and not necessarily the Armored Batman and Hot Rod Batman which have become so common. It’s possible that it could be a re-release of the plain ol’ Batman character car from way back, but our reader also provided me with a convincing picture as to what this new Batman might look like. With many of the characters getting updates, we think there’s a good chance that the Batman below is what we’ll be seeing shortly.

New Batman

There he is, all the way on the right…oddly enough not on the small clear platform. The rest of them have already been released, most recently the newest Wonder Woman.

New Batman

Man, I am hung up on that car. It actually looks like a cross between a character car and a modern sort of Batmobile without all the military tech.

Update: As I was putting the finishing touches on this piece, our well-informed reader from before dropped another fun tidbit my way. It looks like a Malaysian seller has put up an auction for an unspun prototype of Swamp Thing. How cool is that?! I mean, I’ve got no intention of buying the thing but it’s cool to get such an advanced look. I’ve got a couple of pics posted below, including the “proof” whereby SWAMP THING is printed on the chassis.

Swamp Thing Prototype
Swamp Thing Prototype

Not sure this is how I would’ve pictured Swamp Thing…I guess I was thinking of something more Groot-like…but I’m sure it’ll look better with some color!

If you wanna check out more pics or if you’re thinking about grabbing this for yourself, check out the official listing.

Thaz all I gots for now! I know I shoulda gotten this up like 2 days ago, but damn, this shit just takes me longer than I ever think it will! When I know more, so will you…and if you know more, tell me dammit! Shout out and big thanks to C. for his info on the DC front!

One thought on “New and Upcoming Character Cars – MARVEL & DC

  1. Ha, I agree about Swamp Thing. Wouldn’t have been my first guess as to vehicle type, though it’s sort of similar to the types of vehicles in the old Kenner animated toy line. Regardless, I agree, with some paint it’ll be more interesting. Part of the fun of these lines is seeing what kind of surprise designs they come up with. Glad to see Ares getting a single release, I don’t go for every deco variation (Wonder Woman) and try to stick to ones that are “legit” costume/character changes (ie: black Spider-Man, Spider-Man 2099, Falcon as Captain America, etc.).

    Like

Leave a Reply

