Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 NEBULA Character Car Sighting

Normally this sort of info would have me ecstatic, and such a post would be as much to say “here it is” as it is to say “and I bought it!” But honestly I’m a little weary of this deal – and not because I think the seller is a fraud or anything. (I’ll abstain from posting a direct link. If you want to follow along, go to eBay and look up “hot wheels marvel nebula” and you should see it, provided it hasn’t been bought, and even then you can filter by “Sold Listings.”)

I’ll just go ahead and say it – yeah the price bothers me a little bit. Nebula doesn’t really have any “proven rarity” yet and I think that’s why no one’s jumped on it even though it’s been up for 17 hours. I saw one other Nebula that auctioned off for $30-something a few weeks back. I’d feel a lot better if it was hanging around that $13.99 to $11.99 range or, obviously, even less – something $8.99 would be optimal.

You’ve gotta dig into the fine print for this one but it’s there. With all the shipping details and whatnot it mentions that this seller has specified a handling time of up to 5 days!!! That’s incredible. Now I don’t want to be too harsh; I know it’s easy for these options to get changed accidentally and remain unknown to the seller. I know one time my new listings automatically defaulted to a 4 day handling time, something I’d never explicitly set, when I had always marked my items as 2-day or less. It could also be the seller covering his/her ass for other reasons. Maybe they have an erratic shipping schedule, or limited access to a vehicle, or maybe they’re only online 1 or 2 days of the week. My point is that 5-day handling could be nothing or it could be a very deliberate piece of information inserted to protect the seller. I’m fine with that. The problem is that I’m left waiting an extra 5 days, meaning something could happen like, oh, I dunno, eBay is suddenly flooded with half a dozen Nebula’s within 3 days and in the spirit of competition, they’re going for $9.99 a piece!!?? Tough shit, I’m still stuck with a “$20 version.” Don’t get me wrong, you could run into this problem at any time with a new item, it’s just that those 5 extra days – and remember that’s on top of how long it takes USPS (or whoever) to get in here in the first place – makes this scenario more and more likely.

And finally, what about Nebula’s unofficial character car companion: Mantis? So what I go through the trouble, buy Nebula for $20, wait lotsa days, whatever. But wait, I still don’t have Mantis! And then a week or two later, Nebula and Mantis are everywhere for $11.99 each TOPS and the end. Basically what I’m saying is that where’s the incentive to drop big bucks on a car now when we can be quite sure another new one will be coming out soon.

I like to think of myself as spending my money on 2 things: completness and rarity. In the case of this Nebula, I just don’t think that asking price buys me very much of either. We are all but guaranteed to see Nebulas at a better price as competition begins, and probably everyone who wants this Nebula car will want a Mantis as well! Right now the only thing up for sale is bragging rights – and sometimes they’re worth it – but not here, not me, not today.

As always, let me know what you think and if you know where to snag anything awesome!

2 thoughts on “Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 NEBULA Character Car Sighting

  1. Nebula and Mantis are a weird situation for me here. On the one hand, I prefer to get one of each character represented in these cars. On the other, I don’t care about these two characters really at all. Couple that with this weird list where they are specifically described as “Rare!” and I begin to think they may be more trouble than they’re worth to me. I also think the designs are kinda boring. 🙂

    http://www.hotwheelscollectors.com/news/2017-hw-marvel-character-car-mixes-part-1

    Like

    1. I can’t say I entirely disagree. Nobody is going to care about Nebula and Mantis apart from a few hardcore comic fans. I’m all for showing some love to the little guys, but it’s decisions like these – giving us Mantis and Nebula yet no Ronan or Loki – that really drive me up the wall.

      Like

Leave a Reply

