My amiibo Collection: An Introduction

My amiibo Collection: An Introduction

Man on man, I wrestled with how to kick off an entry on amiibo collecting. Do I start from the beginning? Do I just pop out an entry whenever I get some new ones and catch everyone up later? Going through it all in one big whack seemed daunting…and possibly boring to the reader, but in the end, it’s what I know how to do. Even if I tried to start in the middle of a story, I’d just end up getting to the beginning at some point anyway. So let’s pretend we just met. Some tidbit has come up…I’ve told you that I really like video games or you’ve brought up a collection of yours and we establish that I like collecting amiibo. “Oh yeah, I know what those are,” you casually reply. But maybe your “nerd meter” is piqued just enough, and you want to know just a little bit more.

For the record, amiibo are little figurines with chips in them that work with NFC points in certain hardware. Ultimately this has the effect of introducing a small change into a game – maybe an outfit, a whole level, or just a silly sound. I will admit that I think Nintendo kinda dropped the ball on how useful amiibo actually are in-game. There are a few cool uses here and there but overall I think the “vision” is somewhat incomplete. Have I used them? Of course. But my primary interest is in collecting these little figurines as they are.

It all started back in November 2014 when the first wave was released alongside Super Smash Bros. for Wii U / 3DS. There were a few more releases throughout 2014 and early 2015, and man, these were the crazy days of amiibo collecting. Between a leak of production numbers, Nintendo outright saying that several amiibo were likely to be produced in limited numbers, and that cargo strike shit over on the West Coast, and collecting amiibo became a very expensive hobby. I remember on that first day I picked up Mario, Samus, and Link, just because I liked them. I didn’t actually find out about all the craziness right away; it came to me in bits and pieces over a month or two. Whatever brief flash I’d once had of owning all of them was quickly shattered by reports of all the scarcity and lines and rising prices and stupid shit like rich assholes buying up a single character to keep them out of as many hands as possible. And then there were the exclusives. I was vaguely aware of them, but I had no idea that so many retailers would eventually be involved and that you couldn’t just walk in and get one – these shits were gone back on Day One!

So yeah, I was pretty discouraged early on. At some point I heard about the upcoming Gold Mario, to be released March 20th (my birthday!) 2015 exclusively at Walmart. Now being that most Walmarts are open 24 hours, I could be there at midnight, certainly much easier than I could arrive to get in some line ass-early in the morning. Alongside Gold Mario was the first wave of the Super Mario series as well as Mario Party 10. So I went to my Walmart at 12, waited around with a few other people…and waited…and waited. After speaking to few woefully inadequate employees, it became evident that they either didn’t have them or had no clue where they were or how to find them. I raced over to the next nearest Walmart, but alas, it was 12:20, and they’d just sold their last one about 10 minutes prior.

The next day I went and picked up my pre-ordered copy of Mario Party 10 and between a couple of stops had all the other Super Mario amiibo released that day. Sometime around then I really started paying attention to release dates and doing my research on where certain exclusives would drop. Toys R Us was a little bit out of the question, but I was in a great position where I could hit one, possibly two Targets, as well as my local GameStop. I guess my efforts weren’t quite enough though, because I always missed that little pre-order window in the middle of the night.

It was May 2015, and I distinctly remember lining up outside Target for the very first time. It turns out I wasn’t as near to the front as I needed to be, because Lucina and Robyn quickly sold out. However, I was able to get Target’s exclusive as well as the other regular releases. As I said, I had to forego the TRU exclusive, but I did make it over to GameStop about 30 minutes early, and guess what – they had one extra of their exclusives in stock, and I got it!

This pattern continued, and as my devotion increased, a very generous group of friends on the internet rapidly helped me procure what I’d missed out on. One guy gave me an extra Gold Mario, some folks had amiibo shipped to me, and I discovered the “trick” of buying Japanese versions for much less money. This was pretty much the only way to get those early guys without spending an arm and a leg, but once they were outta the package, there was no way to know where they were from, and obviously, the figurines weren’t specifically tied to any region.

With all these mechanisms at play, by mid-summer I was all caught up – I even had a few extra from upcoming North American releases that I’d already gotten from Japan! I was so impressed and grateful at the efforts of my online buddies that I vowed to keep up with the collection as best as I could from then on. I remember picking up another rather large-ish wave in September, and then there was the craziness between October and January of 2015/2016. A handful of amiibo were trickling out every 2 or 3 weeks at the time. I dropped the ball when it came to Mega Yarn Yoshi, though I did snatch one up online. (What happened was that I was fully prepared to be at TRU at 10am – when they opened – however, I was unaware that they now opened at 9am for the impending holiday season.)

Around this time I started to notice a few things though…the lines in the mornings were shorter, sometimes non-existent. New amiibo sat on the shelves for several days, new shipments came in, and – thank god – the exclusives seemed to have stopped. In fact, a lot of older amiibo that had once been almost impossible to get a hold of started showing up, especially at TRU. The exclusives really were a pain in the ass, especially when several hit on the same day. There was Target, Walmart, GameStop, Best Buy, Toys R Us, and even Amazon had a couple. But as 2016 got going, it seemed as if Nintendo had decided to completely do away with this manufactured annoyance. (I was seriously waiting for Kohl’s or Kmart or fucking Walgreens to get in on it…what I really feared was some small little online retailer getting control of one of them.)

Throughout 2016 I developed a new strategy: pre-order everything from BestBuy.com, pick it up on release day, and boom, all done! Ever since those crazy days of early 2016, this is how I’ve gotten most of them. There were a couple of deviations though, like this newest wave of Super Mario series I just picked up at Walmart after midnight, and then Poochy seemed like it was going to be scarce for a while but I was able to pre-order the bundle through GameStop. Best Buy was also being weird about this latest Guardian amiibo…it told me the other 4 were ready for pickup but this one was still being processed. I’ve learned not to take any chances, so I ran out early, found a Guardian over at Target, and then just knocked it off my order before I went up to Best Buy to pick up the other 4.

Now if I really want to be thorough, I’ve gotta talk about the cards too. Back in September 2015, Nintendo put out their first batch of cards. I’ll spare you all the boring details, but I was able to buy up the cards as they came out, using eBay to sell off my extras (since there is absolutely no reason to own more than 1 of any single card), as well as to buy up whatever few I didn’t get randomly. I went through 400 cards in Series 1 – 4 this way, as well as another 50 from the Welcome amiibo series released back in December 2016. There are also 4 other cards of note: 3 “special” cards outside of the 4 main series that were included with the amiibo bundle of Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival and an exclusive Shadow Mewtwo card included with first pressings of Pokken Tournament. As of this moment, there are no more scheduled physical amiibo until May, though we do have 90 cards from Mario Sports Superstars that should be coming our way on the 24th of the month.

Finally I want to quickly point out that, so far, there are 6 amiibo associated with Monster Hunter Stories, which has only been released in Japan and which many are speculating will not see a North American release. These things are really freakin’ cool, so I ordered them! There’s also a “Qbby” / “Cubbie” amiibo from Goodbye! Box Boy! which may not see a release in North America, though it’s a little early to tell.

Hardcore Super Smash Bros. fans will tell you that there’s still 3 very important amiibo left to wait for. The SSB is by and far the largest sub-series of amiibo, and in general, most people regard it as the most important. Several DLC characters have been released for the game, and Nintendo has done a decent job of making sure corresponding amiibo are manufactured and released. However, it seems like Nintendo has been teasing the last 3 forever – Bayonetta, Cloud, and Corrin – but so far, we still have no definitive information on the matter. I would think it would behoove Nintendo to go ahead and get these out before they get too deep in with the Switch…not to mention that they’re main functionality is with a game that’s almost 2.5 years old.

I didn’t take any pictures of my notebook full of cards – can’t really figure out the most clever and engaging way to do so – but I did snap some pics of the rest of my amiibo. Enjoy! It takes a long time to drag all these out and then put ’em away again!


All amiibo

Here’s the big spread, in no particular order or arrangement. That’s every single amiibo released in North America (excluding the cards, obviously) plus the 6 Monster Hunter Stories figurines that haven’t officially seen the light of day over here. Keep on reading and you’ll find out just exactly how many amiibo are in this shot…

Super Smash Bros. Series

SSB amiibo

  • Mario
  • Luigi
  • Princess Peach
  • Yoshi
  • Rosalina
  • Wario
  • Bowser
  • Bowser Jr.
  • Donkey Kong
  • Diddy Kong
  • Dr. Mario
  • Samus
  • Zero Suit Samus
  • Link
  • Toon Link
  • Zelda
  • Sheik
  • Ganondorf
  • Pikachu
  • Jigglypuff
  • Charizard
  • Greninja
  • Lucario
  • Mewtwo
  • Kirby
  • King Dedede
  • Meta Knight
  • Captain Falcon
  • Fox
  • Falco
  • Shulk
  • Ike
  • Marth
  • Robyn
  • Lucina
  • Roy
  • Villager
  • Olimar
  • Mr. Game and Watch
  • Pit
  • Palutena
  • Dark Pit
  • Mega Man
  • Little Mac
  • Duck Hunt
  • Lucas
  • Ness
  • Ryu
  • R.O.B.
  • R.O.B. (Famicom)
  • Sonic
  • Pacman
  • Wii Fit Trainer
  • Mii Gunner
  • Mii Brawler
  • Mii Swordfighter

Super Mario Series

Super Mario amiibo

  • Mario
  • Luigi
  • Princess Peach
  • Toad
  • Yoshi
  • Rosalina
  • Daisy
  • Wario
  • Waluigi
  • Bowser
  • Boo
  • Donkey Kong
  • Diddy Kong
  • Gold Mario
  • Silver Mario

Animal Crossing Series

All amiibo

  • Isabelle (Winter Outfit)
  • Isabelle (Summer Outfit)
  • Tom Nook
  • Timmy & Tommy NooK
  • K.K. Slider
  • Reese
  • Cyrus
  • Blathers
  • Celeste
  • Rover
  • Mabel
  • Lottie
  • Digby
  • Kicks
  • Resetti
  • Kapp’n

Skylanders SuperChargers Series / Chibi-Robo Series / Shovel Knight Series / 30th Anniversary – Mario Series / No Series

Orphaned amiibo

I stuck some of the smaller series and orphans together here for a single shot. Despite having a Smash Bros. base, Gold Mega Man is officially unaffiliated with any new or existing series.

  • Skylanders SuperChargers Series
    • Turbo Charge Donkey Kong
    • Hammer Slam Bowser
    • Dark Turbo Charge Donkey Kong
    • Dark Hammer Slam Bowser
  • 30th Anniversary – Mario Series
    • 30th Anniversary Mario – Classic Color
    • 30th Anniversary Mario – Modern Color
  • Chibi-Robo Series
    • Chibi-Robo
  • Shovel Knight Series
    • Shovel Knight
  • No Series
    • Gold Mega Man

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Series / 30th Anniversary – The Legend of Zelda Series / No Series

Zelda amiibo

I also stuck the 2 Zelda series together, along with another orphan, Wolf Link. Again, for whatever reason, Wolf Link is not named as being a part of any specific series.

  • 30th Anniversary – The Legend of Zelda Series
    • Link – The Legend of Zelda
    • Link – Ocarina of Time
    • Toon Link – The Wind Waker
    • Zelda – The Wind Waker
  • The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Series
    • Link (Archer)
    • Link (Rider)
    • Zelda
    • Bokoblin
    • Guardian
  • No Series
    • Wolf Link

Splatoon Series

All amiibo

  • Inkling Boy
  • Inkling Girl
  • Inkling Squid
  • Inkling Boy (2)
  • Inkling Girl (2)
  • Inkling Squid (2)
  • Callie
  • Marie

Kirby Series

All amiibo

  • Kirby
  • Meta Knight
  • King Dedede
  • Waddle Dee

Yoshi’s Woolly World Series

All amiibo

  • Mega Yarn Yoshi
  • Green Yarn Yoshi
  • Light Blue Yarn Yoshi
  • Pink Yarn Yoshi
  • Poochy

Monster Hunter Stories Series

All amiibo

  • Navirou
  • One-Eyed Rathalos & Rider (Male)
  • One-Eyed Rathalos & Rider (Female)
  • Rathian & Cheval
  • Barioth (Glacier) & Ayuria
  • Qurupeco & Dan

  • Whew, I don’t know what was tougher, typing all that up, shuffling all the amiibo around for pictures, or dealing with all the cropping and resizing. That’s my current collection minus all the cards, for a total of 129 amiibo. And of course depending on that “Qbby” fella, who I’m keeping my eye on, it may go up a number in the near-ish future. I’d like to figure out some way of displaying the cards, there’s just so damn many…maybe it would be better suited for one of my “pages” and set up like a guide or source of reference. Add my 129 to the 400 cards in Series 1 through 4, plus 3 “specials,” 1 Shadow Mewtwo, and 50 from the new Welcome amiibo cards, and I’m up to 583 official amiibo! With “Qbby” and the new cards we’ll be up to 674, and then 676 with the upcoming Celica and Alm due out in May.

    Alright, I think that’ll be a wrap for now…I think that’s a fair enough “introduction”…a little bit of backstory, some current events, and an overview of everything. In the future I can just post updates as they’re available, but I may also single out an amiibo or group of amiibo for a special article now and then…who knows.

    If you’ve made it this far, why not take a moment and tell me about your amiibo collection? How many do you have? Favorites? Not-so-much favorites? Let’s talk amiibo!

Leave a Reply

