More Exciting Character Car News! (Star Wars & Marvel)

Originally posted on February 12th, 2017.

Searching pays off once again!  This time we’ve got 3 new items to report on, so let’s get to it!


Han Solo in Carbonite (and Jabba the Hutt)

We’ve known about this for a while now but it has yet to pop up for sale…until a couple of days back.  A single seller had 16 of these 2-packs for sale and was out within a few hours.  Luckily I got the first one!

Han Solo in Carbonite

Jabba looks pretty much the same, though he never was an easy character to find, so this’ll be a good deal for some folks.  From what I can tell, Carbonite Han is a little more sophisticated than just a silver-gray repaint of one of the Han cars.  It oughta get here in a day or two, so I’ll post some more pics soon.


Rogue One 5-Pack

Unfortunately, I wasn’t as quick on the draw with this one.  Two of these popped up and much to my chagrin, I missed ‘em, only to find them under the “SOLD” listings a little later.  On the one hand that’s ok, because the seller wanted $40 plus another $8 in shipping.  Now I don’t mind paying a bit of a premium to be among the first to have these things, but a full $50 for something that will eventually be all over shelves for a mere $20?  Meh.  Now what happens if another pricey one pops up?  I don’t know…but I did manage to hold off on the ol’ Heroes of the Resistance 5-pack until I found it in stores.

Rogue One 5 Pack with Cassian

Of course the real problem here is that I literally just bought Chirrut and Baze, and of course I already have Jyn and a Death Trooper (4 “clean” ones and 4 “battle damaged” ones). But there’s absolutely no other way to get Captain Cassian Andor, so that’s that.  I do kinda question the inclusion of the Death Trooper though…why not a Bodhi to round on the team…?  Or a freakin’ Krennic!!??  Yeah yeah, because then the pack would contain more than 1 exclusive and, well, we can’t have that, can we?  Hell, they could’ve at least stuck K-2SO in there…but no matter how you slice it, we need more than cannon-fodder baddies before Hot Wheels puts a wrap on the Rogue One line.


Real Riders Iron Man & Hulkbuster

Ok, I had absolutely no clue this existed until I did one of my regular blanket searches for all things “hot wheels marvel,” but it’s pretty cool.  In the vein of stuff like the Daredevil vs. Punisher set or the RLC Captain America, we’ve got a Real Riders Iron Man & Hulkbuster!

Iron Man and Hulkbuster

Besides the new wheels, it looks like the two may have some different accent colors as well.  Like I said, I don’t really know where this set came from, but via some other pictures on the listing, it has to be fairly new as it bears the updated “Character Cars” branding.  I’m on the fence as to whether or not I should snatch this one up at its current price…we’ll see what happens!


That’s all for now!  As always, let me know if you know something I don’t!

Leave a Reply

