A (Mostly) Brand New Set of Character Cars!

Originally posted on January 29th, 2017.

Here we are – my third chunk of news!  This one is exciting too, though maybe about 48 hours later than I meant for it to be.  Honestly it takes me longer to bang these things out than I would think.

In the midst of all those photos of cars at the SDCC (you may have noticed me using them at various points to show off new and/or upcoming vehicles), one of the reveals was a Daffy Duck Character Car from a then-upcoming Looney Tunes series.  Now I ain’t the world’s biggest fan of Looney Tunes, but I do love these character cars, so they instantly went on my radar.  A couple of months back – not sure exactly when – I noticed that sellers everywhere had put Daffy Duck cars up for sale.  Strange, as he’s labeled “2 / 6″, with no other characters in sight.  The back gives us more insight into what to expect:  Bugs Bunny, Tasmanian Devil, Road Runner, Wile E. Coyote, and Marvin the Martian, but unfortunately we just get headshots of the characters with no inkling as to what the cars might look like.

Looney Tunes Back

We’ve had Daffy for a couple of months, but absolutely no iota what the other cars looked like! Well, until now at least!

Since so many sellers had them on hand, I didn’t immediately jump at the opportunity.  I guess it’s a good thing, because not more than a day or two later I was at the Toys R Us in Cary and their shelves were full of Daffy Duck cars.  Not that I hate buying cars online (I do it all the time!), I don’t even mind paying a little extra; what I hate is feeling like I’m getting 112% straight fucked with the shipping charges.  Anyway, TRU didn’t just have 1 or 2 lying around, they had a few dozen.  At least 4 hanging racks were full of them…maybe more. If we do the math on the cases, that’s like 5 or 6 cases at the least.  Really, I’m only going on about it because it was such a crazy sight.  I don’t think we spotted ‘em anywhere else, until sometime a week before or maybe a couple of weeks after Christmas, where they finally showed up en masse at the Raleigh TRU.

Honestly I was beginning to wonder when the hell the rest of this series was coming out.  Like the diligent collector that I am, I persevered, steadily searching for “looney tunes character cars” every day or two.  Three nights ago I did just that, and lo and behold, the results were flooded with both complete sets and singles from about 4 or 5 sellers total.  Eager as I was to snatch up a set (one guy sold like 5 sets in something like 15 hours), I resisted the urge and I was able to find a set of my very own in an actual store the very next day – that’s a story for another post where I plan to go into some of the stuff I’ve found over the past week of hunting.

Looney Tunes

It was a real treat seeing these cars for the first time.  Again, I’m not a fervent fan of Looney Tunes (my son lets out a disappointed groan whenever the show happens to come on, a behavior that I totally recognize in myself at that age when it came on much more frequently), but Hot Wheels did a pretty good job of making some great looking cars out of these guys!

Bugs Bunny Bugs Bunny Daffy Duck Daffy Duck

Tasmanian Devil Tasmanian Devil Road Runner Road Runner

Wile E. Coyote Wile E. Coyote Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian

So who’s your favorite?  Right now I’m leaning towards Bugs just because he’s got that sleek Stingray-ish look but I enjoy the whimsy in all of them…well Marvin has that whole rat-rod thing going on which isn’t exactly my favorite, but overall I’d call this a successful series – definitely a notch or two more creative than the Super Mario series from the summer.

Although I doubt it’ll happen, I wouldn’t mind seeing this particular series expanded upon in lieu of more Marvel obscurities.  Hot Wheels made solid enough choices, though I can’t help but wonder, what about Porky Pig?  Sylvester & Tweety?  Maybe the closest things Looney Tunes has to supervillains, Elmer Fudd and Yosemite Sam?  Foghorn Leghorn, Pepe La Pew, Speedy Gonzales?  I think that about covers the major ones…a “Part II” series of 8 cars wouldn’t be out of the question, right?  Then again, if they did Looney Tunes Pt. 2, I’d be freakin’ out over the absence of more Mario cars: we need Wario, Waluigi, Daisy, Rosalina…I’d love to see all 7 Koopalings but that’s probably a stretch!

Anyway, thus ends the third chapter of all the incredible news I wanted to bang out.  Yeah yeah, it took me like 3 fucking days but it got damn done.  So lemme know what you think!  Also, I’m gonna wait until a future post to really get into it, but I want to go ahead and put it out there – don’t go tripping over yourself to buy one of these sets for $40 and another $9 or $10 off eBay just yet.  The day after the night I saw them online I was able to grab the 5 I didn’t have at Walmart; however, they didn’t have enough left to make another complete set, and granted I had already been to one Walmart before that that didn’t have them.  Good news is that I was at a completely different Walmart the next day and was able to pick up another full set of 6, but again, there weren’t enough left to make another.  My advice: have some patience and check around.  You ought to be able to snatch all of these up without too much hassle and all the extra online expenses.

Ok ok, now I know this is crazy, but I actually have another awesome piece of news – just found out about it a few hours ago, so it’s nice and fresh.  It ain’t technically a part of these last 3 posts but it is some brand new info that I’m going to try and write up ASAP.

Come to me with any and all awesome news.  I’ll give you credit!

Leave a Reply

