Character Cars We NEED

Originally posted on December 21st, 2016.

In going through what’s been rumored to drop here at the end of 2016 and 2017, it got me thinking about character cars I really want to see.  I’m only counting “active” series – Marvel, DCU, and Star Wars – and I didn’t reuse any characters already mentioned in the last post (confirmed or unconfirmed).  So yeah, as much as Lando would be a shoe-in on my Star Wars list and Poison Ivy would be a solid #2 or #3 on my DCU list, I’m leaving them off in the hopes that we’ll see them sooner rather than later.  Oh and I’ll also be including Carships, which I currently know nothing about the future of! I’ll be doing a maximum of 10 per category just to keep things in check.

Ready?


DCU – This might be the toughest to nail down simply because the DCU line is so heavily focused on Batman and his rogue’s gallery. I feel like some of the more obscure slots of the Suicide Squad could be filled in, and then the Teen Titans have been criminally ignored. Having some sort of “Bat-family” or “Lanterns” set would be really fun too. As I mentioned before, Poison Ivy would definitely be on this list were she not included in the previous post.

  1. Scarecrow
  2. Cyborg CYBORG CYBORG
  3. Doomsday
  4. Darkseid
  5. Brainiac
  6. Lex Luthor
  7. Sinestro
  8. Solomon Grundy
  9. Nightwing
  10. Clayface

Honorable Mentions: SWAMP THING!!!, Red Hood, Red Robin, Superboy Prime, Larfleeze, Ares, Professor Pyg, Azrael, Black Manta, Firefly


Marvel – Marvel character cars have mostly focused on either Spider-Man, or on the Avengers and moved outwards, though some of their biggest properties are largely ignored, such as the X-Men (and offshoots) and the Fantastic 4. The biggest problem right now? Villains. We’ve got very few villains in the Marvel mix, and most of who we do have are Spider-Man’s rogues!

  1. LOKI LOKI LOKI
  2. Thanos (they could be waiting for Infinity War, which I would understand)
  3. Carnage
  4. Deadpool
  5. Scarlet Witch
  6. Galactus
  7. The Mandarin (the real version, not that shit in Iron Man 3…)
  8. Magneto
  9. Iron Patriot
  10. Nick Fury

Honorable Mentions: Luke Cage, Whiplash, Iron Spider, Scarlet Spider, Electro, Sandman, Hobgoblin, Demogoblin, Cyclops, Storm, Abomination


Star Wars – The biggest area that’s been ignored in Star Wars is the prequel trilogy…and I guess The Clone Wars too, but I don’t really know anything about the series. Like I said above, I’ve long lobbied for Lando to join the ranks, but I’ve left him out since Lando appears to be a possibility at some point.

  1. Padme / Princess Amidala
  2. Qui-Gon Jinn
  3. Mace Windu
  4. Count Dooku
  5. Commander Cody or generic yellow Clone Trooper, since we already have blue and red
  6. Bib Fortuna
  7. Jar Jar Binks
  8. Nien Nunb
  9. Nute Gunray
  10. Leia as Boussh

Honorable Mentions: IG-88/Dengar/4-LOM/Zuckuss, Wedge Antilles, Grand Moff Tarkin, Destroyer Droid, Chancellor/Senator Palpatine, Kit Fisto, Snowtrooper (why not…?)

I certainly don’t want to speculate much on Rogue One so early on and especially before seeing it (I hope to get around to that on Thursday), but for the record, I sincerely hope that Hot Wheels churns out a sleek and smooth, pearly, irridescent white vehicle representative of General Krennic!


Carships – It ain’t easy to represent some of these exotic starcruisers and starfighters with cars, at least not without looking hokey, but so far Hot Wheels is doing a pretty good job. I’m not sure how well some of these would turn out…but I do wanna see ’em!

  1. B-Wing Fighter
  2. Lambda-class Shuttle (Tydirium)
  3. Sith Infiltrator
  4. K-Wing Fighter
  5. Phantom TIE
  6. Droid Tri-Fighter
  7. Vulture
  8. N-1 Fighter
  9. Hound’s Tooth (Bossk’s Ship)
  10. AT-AT

So what do you think? Agree with my picks? Got some of your own to add? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

